Donnie Trumpet Supports The Roots, Local Acts Plentiful at Taste of Chicago 2016 Music Stages

Photo by  Allen Daniels

Photo by Allen Daniels

The Taste of Chicago lineup is upon us for the 2016 celebration of Chicago food and music held at Grant Park. Donnie Trumpet (of The Social Experiment, Chance The Rapper) will support the legendary Roots crew on the festival's opening night and will serve as the only local representative on the Pertillo Music Shell headlining stage. Additional headlining performances range from The Isley Brothers to South African rockers Kongo (with support from Top 40 songstress Elle King) and Portland folk-rock group The Decemberists to 80s rockstar Billy Idol. 

The Bud Light stage features plenty of local Chicago talent like hip-hop group Rapperchicks, singer/songwriter Ezra Furman, pop duo Celine Neon, electro group Glass Lux, alt-rock band The Kickback and R&B singer Daryn Alexus.

Check out a full line up below. Seated tickets (prices range per show) for the headlining performances go on sale at 10:00AM on Friday, April 29th at General admission and lawn seating is free and open to the public. Taste of Chicago hours are 11:00AM to 9:00PM Wednesday through Friday and 10:00AM to 9:00PM on Saturday and Sunday.

Petrillo Music Shell Concerts (Headliners):

Wednesday, July 6th at 5:30PM: The Roots with Donnie Trumpet

Thursday, July 7th at 5:00PM: KONGOS with Elle King, Transviolet

Friday, July 8th at 5:30PM: The Decemberists with Shakey Graves

Saturday,  July 9th at 4:30PM: Billy Idol with Sons of the Silent Age

Sunday, July 10th at 4:30PM: The Isley Brothers with Sheila E

Bud Light Stage:

Wednesday, July 6th (Celebrating Singer-Songwriters & Country Music)
12:00PM: Elk Walking
1:20PM: Daniel Wade
2:40PM: Lawrence Peters Outfit
4:00PM: Derek Fawcett
5:20PM: Righteous Hillbillys
6:40PM: Heartsfield

Thursday, July 7th (A Cornucopia of Music) 
12:00PM Chicago Latin Groove: Ladies Singing Salsa (Latin)
1:20PM: Zverse (Hip-Hop)
2:40PM: Esso Afrojam Funkbeat (World)
4:00PM: Rapperchicks (Rap)
5:20PM: Gilligan Moss (Electronic)
6:40-7:40PM: Ezra Furman (Punk/Rock)

Friday, July 8th (Rock ‘n’ Roll Will Never Die)
12:00PM: The Giving Moon
1:20PM: American Grizzly
2:40PM: King Mixer
4:00PM: The Ivorys
5:20PM: The Kickback
6:40PM: Fort Frances

Saturday, July 9th (Surf-Pop, Synth-Pop, Electro-Pop and Just Pop)
12:00PM: Clear Confusion
1:20PM: Isaiah Grass
2:40PM: Glass Lux
4:00PM: Impulsive Hearts
5:20PM: Celine Neon
6:40PM: The Fall Four

Sunday, July 10th (R&B and Soul)
12:00PM: Krystal Metcalfe
1-5:00PM: Chicago Made: Steppin’ at the Taste
5:20PM: Daryn Alexus
6:40PM: Nola Ade