DJ Rashad's Legacy Continues with Posthumous Release from Teklife Label

Photo via  Teklife

Photo via Teklife

Legendary Chicago producer, DJ and footwork pioneer, DJ Rashad's legacy will continue with a posthumous release from his Teklife crew. The album titled Afterlife is expected to be released on April 8th, 2016 digitally as well as limited CD/Vinyl (2 LP) versions.  The release will feature collaborations with Teklife members DJ Spinn, DJ Earl and DJ Manny, with proceeds from the release going to Rashad's family. A full tracklist for Afterlife can be found below. In the Summer of 2015, Teklife launched their own label under the same name with a to be released compilation that would feature previously unreleased Rashad singles (among tracks from other artists in the crew) expected this past November. The rumored compilation and recently announced Afterlife are expected to be one in the same. 

To celebrate the announcement, the label released the project's bonus track titled "High On Hope" featuring production from Machinedrum and Microglobe. Teklife released a brief statement describing the album below.

Afterlife is testament to an incredible breadth of influences and love of music with soul, hip-hop, house, techno and many more all brought together at 160bpm. Rashad’s presence is felt throughout in the boundless energy and creativity which run through the album, whilst each collaborator brings their personal touch to the compositions.
— Teklife

DJ Rashad passed away on April 26th, 2014 at an apartment in Chicago. After conflicting reports of his death, an autopsy later concluded DJ Rashad died from a drug overdose. The death was ruled an accident and various drug paraphernalia was found on the scene. 

DJ Rashad toured alongside his fellow Teklife crew member DJ Spinn during Chance The Rapper's 'Social Experiment' Tour in late 2013. Chance later tweeted:

DJ Rashad had released his critically acclaimed release Double Cup earlier that year and was a stand out performance at Pitchfork Music Festival 2014. A full livestream of the set can be found on Pitchfork's YouTube Channel.

Afterlife Tracklist:
01. ‘Roll Up That Loud’ (ft. DJ Spinn & Taso)
02. ‘Get Fuk’d Up’ (ft. Gant-Man)
03. ‘Let’s Roll Out’ (ft. DJ Manny & DJ Spinn)
04. ‘Come Close’ (ft. DJ Phil)
05. ‘Wear Her Pussy Out’ (ft. DJ Earl)
06. ‘Oh God’ (ft. DJ Spinn)
07. ‘Ratchet City’ (ft. Gant-Man & DJ Manny)
08. ‘Get You Burnt’ (ft. DJ Taye)
09. ‘Pass That’ (ft. Tripletrain & DJ Spinn)
10. ‘Tony Montana’ (ft. Boylan & DJ Manny)
11. ‘Yeah We Do This’ (ft. DJ Tre)
12. ‘Lost Worlds’ (ft. Traxman)
13. ‘Do U Wanna B Mine’ (ft. DJ Spinn & DJ Paypal)
14. ‘Roll A Tree’ (ft. DJ Manny)