News RoundUp • Vic Mensa Five Fingers of Death Freestyle, Kanye Announces Tour & More

Photo by Rene Marban

Photo by Rene Marban

Yes, the music is important, but as music lovers we also gotta make sure we stay up to date on what's happening in this city and beyond. To do that, we occasionally round up the best stories from in and around Chicago to help you keep up with what's happening. This time around we have some more verses from Vic Mensa, a possible new collaboration from Chance, a new Kanye tour and some news from the Congress Theater. Check all that and more available below.


Vic Mensa Stops By Sway, Takes on Five Fingers of Death

If you've had your head in a hole for the last week or so like the CPD, then you probably missed the fact that Vic Mensa is now a bonafide superstar. The Chicago MC has been ascending towards the throne since his teenage years and appears to have truly broken through with his latest effort, There's A Lot Going On, his Roc Nation debut that dropped last week.

In the wake of the project's release, Vic has been plenty busy spreading the gospel for his new work. A WGCI Sprite Lounge listening party, a performance at Webster Hall on his birthday that led to a historic Kanye-led riot afterwards, his support set alongside longtime friend Joey Purp and today, a 'Five Fingers of Death' Freestyle on Sway's Universe. Dude kills it, per usual, check it out for yourself below.

Chance The Rapper Teases Death Cab For Cutie Single

Despite not being on the official billing for the annual Bonaroo Festival, Chance The Rapper traveled to Manchester, Tennessee this weekend to participate anyway, taking the stage alongside several acts including J. Cole, Miguel, Macklemore, Bryson Tiller and more and appears to have made some new friends in the process as it was revealed he may have a collaboration with none other than Death Cab For Cutie.

Several pictures and videos of the band and Chance, in his now-iconic '3' hat shaking hands and hanging out behind the scenes in Tennessee that has put the music world on some sort of notice. Several posts on Death Cab's Instagram pointed to the possible collaboration and Chance continued to hint at a possible Death Cab/Chance track himself on social media, tweeting '10-4' when asked.

Chance is certainly one for out-of-the-box collaborations, having worked alongside varying acts like SnakeHips, Justin Bieber, Madonna, Hundred Waters, Skrillex and many others. Check out video from his weekend at Bonnaroo above as well. 


Congress Theater Seeks Landmark Status

The Congress Theater is once again looking for a new way to keep itself in operation, this time levying the city for landmark status as it undergoes extensive renovations.

The  4,900 seat theater, built in 1904, has been shut down since 2012 amid several building code and operational issues that forced it to close as a music venue while still operating apartments out of the space. With a renewed focus on the Logan Square community, which itself looks almost unrecognizable from the last time the Congress held a show, it appears new plans for the iconic venue look to fit in with the ultra-chic Lincoln Park West that's assembling on the Northwest side of the city.

Included in plans for the Congress' $55 Million renovation include: "plans for a one-story addition to the theater and a new rooftop deck."

Kanye West Announces 'The Life of Pablo' Tour

Kanye West's latest release, The Life of Pablo  started off an amazing year for Chicago music and set the tone for what was to come from acts like Chance The Rapper, Vic Mensa, Desiigner and many more and now the show is headed out on the road at long last. The first tour since his last Yeezus barnstorming effort that wowed crowds from coast to coast, this latest edition kicks off August 25 in Indianapolis and comes through Chicago on October 7 and 8 for a two-night run. We'll keep you up to date as more details come available, full listing below.

Thursday, August 25, 2016 Indianapolis, IN Bankers Life Fieldhouse

Saturday, August 27, 2016 Buffalo, NY First Niagara Center

Tuesday, August 30, 2016 Toronto, ON Air Canada Centre

Friday, September 02, 2016 Montreal, QC Bell Centre

Saturday, September 03, 2016 Boston, MA TD Garden

Monday, September 05, 2016 New York, NY Madison Square Garden

Tuesday, September 06, 2016 New York, NY Madison Square Garden

Thursday, September 08, 2016 Washington, DC Verizon Center

Monday, September 12, 2016 Atlanta, GA Philips Arena

Wednesday, September 14, 2016 Tampa, FL Amalie Arena

Friday, September 16, 2016 Miami, FL AmericanAirlines Arena

Tuesday, September 20, 2016 Houston, TX Toyota Center

Wednesday, September 21, 2016 Austin, TX Frank Erwin Center

Thursday, September 22, 2016 Dallas, TX American Airlines Center

Saturday, September 24, 2016 Nashville, TN Bridgestone Arena

Sunday, September 25, 2016 Columbus, OH Schottenstein Center

Wednesday, September 28, 2016 Detroit, MI Joe Louis Arena

Friday, September 30, 2016 University Park, PA Bryce Jordan Center

Saturday, October 01, 2016 Cleveland, OH Quicken Loans Arena

Tuesday, October 04, 2016 Philadelphia, PA Wells Fargo Center

Thursday, October 06, 2016 Detroit, MI Palace of Auburn Hills

Friday, October 07, 2016 Chicago, IL United Center

Saturday, October 08, 2016 Chicago, IL Allstate Arena

Monday, October 10, 2016 Minneapolis, MN Xcel Energy Center

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 Winnipeg, MB MTS Centre

Saturday, October 15, 2016 Edmonton, AB Rogers Place

Monday, October 17, 2016 Vancouver, BC Rogers Arena

Wednesday, October 19, 2016 Seattle, WA KeyArena

Saturday, October 22, 2016 Oakland, CA Oracle Arena

Tuesday, October 25, 2016 Los Angeles, CA Forum

Wednesday, October 26, 2016 Los Angeles, CA Forum

Saturday, October 29, 2016 Las Vegas, NV T-Mobile Arena

Jake Krez

Side By Side PR, 2248 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL, 60616, United States